Bliss

I’m at the end of my second week at my new obstetrics residency.

It has been an amazing two weeks. I’ve been at the ambulatory women’s health clinic at the community health center. I’m going to be on L&D soon.

I am going to get my own Doppler! Eep!

Today, I got to do an initial prenatal on my cousin Susan. She had a smile when I opened the door, even though she had already been waiting for hours. As I went through the whole checklist of her health history, I got to hear about her challenging first birth.

She had her records. She had her operative report. She told me she wanted to try for a VBAC. By all criteria, she was a good candidate. I told her that I was happy to say we were just told that the physicians’ group affiliated with the women’s center would now be accepting VBAC candidates because of our residency! The attending physicians and residents would be providing coverage to fulfill the requirements of the hospital. (One of my attendings high fived me when I told her the news!!)

I mentioned that the hospital already had the lowest cesarean rate in the county. She smiled and said she knew. At the end of the appointment, she told me she had researched her options on the ICAN website. I laughed and said that I was a fan.

This.

Plus, did I tell you I’m going to get my own Doppler?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Bliss

  1. Jim

    Well done . :-)

  2. Congrats on the OB residency! I’ve been waiting for you to post something like this. I’m in a similar position…accepted to medical schools but can’t go due my husband not wanting to move (so limited by family). I hope that just like in your situation, I will ultimately get to do what I am most passionate about even if it takes me longer than others. You go girl! :)

  3. I’m restudying for the MCAT (the only area on my app that can really be improved). Maybe this year, I’ll get into a school near my home. Your story has given me hope that all will be okay. Glad to see you blogging again. :)

Leave a Reply

