Things that brighten my night

It’s been a long day. I came home feeling like a not-good-enough resident, mother, woman, housekeeper, dog owner, driver, you name it.  I have loved ones in the hospital in other states. I have friends hurting in other states that I wish I could help, or at least hug. I haven’t bought one present. I haven’t put up a tree.

I shared  this old post about things  that brighten my day with one such friend. Then, I let go for a moment. I let my teen son sleep on the couch, I left the dishes, the bills, the evaluations and logs, the laundry, and I stepped onto my back patio. I plugged in the Christmas lights my sons and I put up yesterday. I felt the cool breeze, listened to it rustle through the palms, and took in the twinkling lights and the full moon.

patio lights

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Things that brighten my night

  1. Hang in there girl. You are a good egg.

  2. Know that you aren’t alone in feeling like a not-good-enough everything. I keep hoping that at some point in my training (now at 7 years and counting) the feeling will go away, but it seems to always linger.

Leave a Reply

