Early induction for dying dad

My sister-in-law posted the link on my Facebook page to this sad story about a pregnant woman getting an induction a week and a half early because her husband was dying. I had already seen the story on quite a few of my birthy friends’ Facebook pages, but hadn’t typed out my thoughts about it. She encouraged me to discuss my thoughts, so this is what I said:

Yeah, this story has been spreading around the birth-o-sphere. It’s really heartbreaking.

I think it was very empathetic for the hospital to accommodate them by putting them together. I doubt many hospitals would do that.

Strictly academically speaking, it is not advisable, medically, to induce delivery at 38 weeks. The baby had a higher risk of having lung issues and being admitted to the NICU, which would have been even more stressful in a non ideal situation. 38 weeks is better than earlier, but it still carries a slightly higher risk of certain complications.

Also, an early induction may fail and end in cesarean, which would be harder on the mom. It would have separated them. Considering how many kids she already had and that she was already experiencing some symptoms (although many women feel contractions way before they are ready to deliver) it was more likely that the induction would be successful.

Nonacademically speaking, people are induced early for worse reasons. I think it probably meant a lot to both of them, and will mean a lot to the baby as it gets older enough to understand.

It reminded me of repeatedly sneaking infant Zacho into the ICU to see Dad, which was also not medically advisable, but meant a lot to me. It also means a lot to Zach, who was just telling me last night that he remembers meeting Grandpa, and that he was really funny.

********

For some more reading, I wrote about nulliparous (first birth) induction for non medical reasons, and, since the article states that the mom had planned a “natural childbirth”, here is my post about really disliking that term. For clarification, my dad died about a month after Zach, my youngest son, was born. And, yes, he was really funny.

This was blog post number 666. I heard recently that the real number of the beast may be 616. Oh, well.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Early induction for dying dad

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this story. It seems it’s like a lot of interventions – they are neither good nor evil, but their manner of usage makes them so (to paraphrase a quote I can’t seem to find a reference for right now…). In this case, it seems the risks associated with induction at 38 weeks were worth it, which isn’t true with all inductions, no matter when they take place. We seem to get into trouble when we make these interventions blanket routine practice and also when we decide that they are wholly evil and should never be used.

Leave a Reply

