Board scores, driving, public health and applications

Sorry I have been so scarce. I have been doing a rotation at a community health center that is 90 miles from my house. I commute most days. The kids started school last Monday, and I have started doing doing ERAS, the electronic residency application.

I got my USMLE Step II scores back. (I am a DO student. I took both the COMLEX and the USMLE because I will be doing the MD match. If you want to read more about this, I wrote about it here) Since I talked about my scores for Step I to of how well I did, I guess I’m going to this time around.

I did really well. Very well. Much better than I thought I did. It should make it a bit easier to get interviews at MD programs, I hope. Now I am going through the application process and getting ready for elective rotations.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Board scores, driving, public health and applications

  1. Hooray! Congratulations on all that hard work paying off.

  2. Congratulations! No surprise there. Kids starting school and work is drowning me as well.

  3. Yay you! Been wondering how you did. Hang in there on the commute and everything.

  4. Heather

    Congrats on your scores. Just ran into your blog at 2 AM while I am wasting time not studying, and not preparing my case study presentation for tomorrow……. Anyway, I am also a Mom of 2, and a second year med student in a DO program. Enjoyed your pic of narrating the Vagina Monologues, since we perform that every year too. Last year, I did ‘The Flood’. lol Anyway, was curious about you taking Step II USMLE’s. Everyone here pretty much just does Step I USMLE and both steps of Comlex.

    • MomTFH

      It really varies from person to person. At our school, we all have to do both levels of COMLEX. Some people do USMLE. Some do just step 1, some do just step 2, and some do both. I did both because I knew I was only applying to allopathic residencies, and I did OK but not stellar on step 1.

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

