Magic dust

I don’t usually do the mommy blogging thing (not that there’s anything wrong with it!), but I wanted to share a sweet story from last night.

Five year old Z came into my room in the wee hours of the morning yesterday, because he had a bad dream about werewolves. I gave him hugs, reassured him it was just a dream, talked him into going pee, and tucked him back into bed safely.

So, last night, as I was putting him to bed, I said “I have something for you. Here is some magic dust,” and I dumped some imaginary magic dust into his hand. “Keep it in your magic pocket. It makes any dream monsters explode into a firework.”

He looked at me doubtfully. “That’s not real magic dust.”

If I’m one thing, I am quick on my feet. “That’s right!” I said brightly. “Of course it isn’t. It only works against monsters that aren’t real.”

He bought it. Whew!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Magic dust

  1. Aren’t all monsters real when you are five? And then when you grow up reality turns monstrous?

    I realize, of course, that you mean dream monsters vs. reality monsters – but at that age it was all a blur for me. Wait, it still is.

    As long as you make it work for his monsters (and you clearly did), that is the most important thing:)

    Love the magic dust idea. I’m saving that one for when I need it! Very adorable, non-mommy blogger.

    • MomTFH

      I think I may have said it only works against dream monsters that aren’t real.

      Yeah, reality is definitely more monstrous that fantasy right now. I would much rather be dreaming.

  2. 5 is a nice age. I am missing my 5 year olds, they have grown into a 25 year old and an 11 year old.

Leave a Reply

