Resources from ACOG

I am going through my papers from the conference. I wanted to throw up some links while I did it, since I am coming across some cool stuff.

First of all, I am excited about ordering powerpoints synced with the audio from some of the presentations I missed because they were sold out, or they conflicted with medical student activities. There was one on VBAC I definitely plan on ordering, and will see how much money I can spare on the some of the other interesting topics.

I wish I could buy lots of books, too. Such as Special Issues in Women’s Health, or Evaluation of Cesarean Delivery.

I heard about the Maternal and Child Health Library out of Georgetown. Time to sign up for another newsletter. Hmm, maybe another one. Here’s a flyer from the North American Society for Psychosocial Obstetrics and Gynecology, and I think they have a newsletter. Phew, they seem to be on a newsletter hiatus.

I grabbed a flyer on NIH Loan Repayment Programs. Interesting. I am keen on doing disparities research eventually.

The President’s Program focused on perinatal depression. I liked that he had a spectrum of speakers: one patient / activist, one psychologist, and one physician. I learned about the Perinatal Depression Information Network, which I don’t know much about, but sounds like it could be a good resource. One of the biggest issues with depression (and other mental illness) is that it can be isolating, and I am a firm believer in support networks and information for patients to counteract this sense of isolation. I noticed that one of the Presidential Program posters mentioned dyadic assessment and intervention for mothers and infants aimed at improving attachment for women with a history of trauma. This was from the University of Michigan. Sounds like some great research.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Resources from ACOG

  1. I’ve happened across the NASPOG site before and they didn’t seem to have a lot going on. I thought maybe they had fizzled. Their mission is of particular interest to me, so I’m looking forward to what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

