Leaving you something to read *link fixed*

I know, as soon as I said I wouldn’t be posting, I am posting. But, I forgot to share a link!

Thanks to Amy Romano from Science and Sensibility for sharing this with me. As she said, it comes with a major trigger warning for birth trauma and loss of medical autonomy.

This is the story of a patient, who was also a doctor, and her cascade of horrible care starting with being sent home from triage when she presented in labor, and ended with life changing PTSD. It is on Pulse, a site fostering the humanistic practice of medicine.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Leaving you something to read *link fixed*

  1. The link isn’t working for me- found the site (I think) but not the article.

  2. The link to the story doesn’t work for me either :(

  3. Wow. Things like this should never happen. But they do. This is why I no longer work as a nurse in a large community hospital. In the end I felt like I could not provide good care and the manager didn’t care if I did as long as I filled out all the paperwork. Like the Hippa forms this lady was speaking about.

    • MomTFH

      It’s a shame. It’s good to know there are practitioners out there who care.

      I can understand how nurses can become desensitized to the mounds of paperwork and strange routines, but it never ceases to amaze me when they are inconsiderate and rude in order to fulfill those requirements, especially if they are getting in the way of good care.

  4. Goose bumps and nausea. Thanks for sharing. Have you read “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks?” I haven’t, but have heard about the story from a friend, and can’t wait to.

    As wonderful as the world of medicine can be, it can also be cruel and violating. That’s why we are here. To inject humanity.

  5. fuck a holy duck. i can’t even get through the whole post. i got to the part about the doctor accusing her of wanting a “sneak induction” and nearly vomited my lunch. i PRAY that i have the resources to do a non-hospital birth and use a midwife/doula when the time comes.

    • I hope so, too. Unfortunately, it is a privilege in many ways to have access to a practitioner, treatment and mode of delivery that is not just evidence based but protects your autonomy.

Leave a Reply

