Exciting things a-brewin’

I am going to be in a production of Eve Ensler’s The Vagina Monologues tomorrow night. This is my third year being involved with our medical school V Day production. I was the narrator for the past two years. This year I am performing the poem at the end, a poem about birth called “I Was There in the Room”. It ends with:

The heart is capable of sacrifice
So is the vagina
The heart can forgive and repair
It can change its shape to let us in
It can expand to let us out
So can the vagina
It can ache for us and stretch for us, die for us
And bleed and bleed us into this difficult, wondrous world
I was there in the room
I remember

I also was selected to be a delegation coordinator for Amnesty International’s lobbying effort to bring attention to maternal mortality, including lack of prenatal care and racial disparities.

So, I know I am supposed to write up my cousin Susan’s birth story (which will probably be my first non guest post at Mothers in Medicine), and talk about the whole NIH VBAC conference thing, and recruit more doctors for my survey, but I’m a little busy right now. I’ll get to them soon, I swear.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Exciting things a-brewin’

  1. Paige

    Wish I could make it this year. I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow night.

  2. Break a leg! Someday I want to play in one of these.

    • MomTFH

      It was wonderful. Performing in the monologues has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I hope you get a chance to do it once.

      Maybe we can have a Shakesville virtual V Day next year! I bet we could pull it off. Like a Radio Shakesville extra.

  3. jenincanada

    Have a great time! Our show isn’t until the end of April. “I was There in the Room” is one of my favorite pieces as well. This year I’m doing “Because He Liked To Look At It”, which if full of awesome because I’m convinced I married Bob.

    JeninCanada
    Aka
    GimliGirl

    • MomTFH

      Thanks! We did.

      I showed your comment to my close friend, who performed “Because He Liked To Look At It” for the second year in a row (one of my faves, too). She cracked up and wishes she could meet your Bob.

      My husband is a bit like Bob. Especially with the khaki wearing bit. ;)

Leave a Reply

