Blog for Choice

I missed Blog for Choice day this year. Rachel has a great round up at Women’s Health News. The research team I am doing my fellowship had a grant application due today. I rocked the references. We had some long days, and it finally was finished yesterday afternoon.

On to the choice stuff. I am of course extremely annoyed about this Tim Tebow Focus on the Family Super Bowl commercial nonsense. NPR reports that CBS has made an announcement in defense of accepting the ad, which, based on an anecdote about Tebow’s mother refusing a medically recommended abortion when she had amoebic dysentary and ending up with a Heisman trophy winner, encourages people to ignore medical advice during pregnancy when they take teratogenic medications. Or is just about a mom lovin’ her son, depending on who is telling you about the ad.

CBS has refused to take Super Bowl ads they have deemed too controversial in the past from the likes of MoveOn.org, PETA, and the United Church of Christ, who were simply stating that they were inclusive to everyone. Now that the Tebow Focus on the Family ad is causing an uproar, CBS has announced oh, by the way, did we mention we have changed that policy? Coincidentally, right before FOTF approached them, I suppose.

I took the Redhead’s advice (hat tip to SharkFu) and made a donation to Planned Parenthood. I also threw some money at Medical Students for Choice, a group of which I am a proud member. Please join me as part of the backlash to this nonsense.

I trust women. I trust Tim Tebow’s mother to make her own choice about her pregnancy, and I trust all women to have that choice, too. Even if they come to a different decision than she would. I also hate that this anti-choice advocacy totally ignores all of the women (and mothers! and their children!) who die every year due to illegal abortion. Here is my blog for choice day post from last year if you mistakenly believe that anti-choice laws don’t kill mothers and their children, or other myths about abortion.

If you can’t afford to give money, consider installing the GoodSearch toolbar on your browser, and your searches will earn money for Medical Students for Choice.

I am having a Beatles Rock Band party during the Super Bowl. My hubby will have the game on in the living room, but I will be in the back room doing the Beatles thing. And making and serving food. I hope to miss the Tebow commercial. And any commercial with farting horses.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Blog for Choice

  1. Paige

    Rock Band party? how could you not tell m e about this. What day is the superbowl?

    • MomTFH

      Ha, I knew that would happen. I considered calling you first to invite you, before you read it here. It’s 2/07/10 at 6 pm. Be there and be fab!

  2. Paige

    Yes, I realize I totally missed the point of your post. ;)

  3. I have to admit, I got a little distracted by the mention of Beatles Rock Band too ;-) Jealous!!

    Strange how someone making a particular choice should translate into everyone else not having that choice…hmmm…

  4. Pingback: Update on the Tebow ad « Mom’s Tinfoil Hat

Leave a Reply

