Itching to write, but tooooo busy (and clitoris)

I have a post brewing about reproductive health care and enlisted women, but right now I am up to my eyeballs in stuff to do.

I am catching up on reviewing the chapters I am assigned for the new Our Bodies, Ourselves. It’s been really exciting. I have been researching the anatomy of the clitoris for the last two days. (Hello, weird search engine hits to my blog). I am having trouble finding a consistent, comprehensive description in one source. I was watching Rachel Maddow interview Ana Marie Cox while reading about the clitoris last night – I feel like I earned an honorary lesbian card. (OK, now I’m asking for the weird search engine hits. But, it’s better than being caught by surprise by even weirder ones. You have no idea.)

My Essential Clinical Anatomy is passable, but not detailed enough. I can’t find my Netter’s, and I feel sorry for whoever has it, because it stank of formaldehyde and had some very questionable stains on some of the pages. I wish my library has access to the Journal of Urology, since it has what appears to be a good article on it. In fact, I am kind of surprised it doesn’t. I did find an interesting article in the Australian Nursing Journal by Helen O’Connell, who is the author of the unavailable J. of Urology article, in which she complains of the, ahem, shortcomings (her word) of the treatment of the clitors in anatomy texts, including Grey’s Anatomy.

Anyway, as usual, my “I’m too busy to post” post has gotten long. Two reviewed chapters, one eggnog Bundt cake, a few batches of spiced nuts and Christmas cookies, and a roasted chicken from now, I hope to be writing about military reproductive health care.

Edited to add: I had no idea the clitoris was so complicated! (Insert joke here). I think I get it. Well, as much as I can when the sources aren’t consistent with their terminology.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Itching to write, but tooooo busy (and clitoris)

  1. K

    There’s a website with a computer model of a 3d vulva somewhere… http://www.3dvulva.com/
    it might be of some use.
    I kinda learned most about the clitoris in bits & pieces online & in various books.

    • MomTFH

      Thanks! I’ll check it out. 3D models can be really helpful. Actually, that is one of the main complaints about some of the anatomical representations – the clitoris and supporting structures are not on a 2D plane, as often represented.

  2. Check your inbox for that article. And in return, I’ll accept the recipe for Egg Nog bundt cake!

    And thanks in advance for your work on OBOS. I’ve gotta get cracking on my part now, I suppose. :)

    • MomTFH

      You got it. I need to get to work, myself, to make the deadline. Off to research the g spot!

      • Ooh, me too, please? Does it call for homemade nog, or store bought?

        • MomTFH

          OK, OK, I’ll post it! No real egg nog was harmed in the baking.

          It’s a from scratch recipe. I got the egg nog variation from this month’s Cook’s Country, and the original yellow bundt cake batter recipe from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book (these two sources go well together, since they’re both put out by the test kitchen.)

          So, you make the batter above, and take out 1 cup of it and put it in a large bowl. Then, you add 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 tablespoon dark rum. Stir until just combined.

          Spread the original batter in the bundt pan evenly. Spread the rummy spiced batter in a thin layer over it. Bake until toothpick comes out with just a few crumbs at 350 (50 – 60 minutes) It will have a cool dark tasty swirl through the middle.

          Cool for 15 minutes in pan, then flip to wire rack to cool completely. Mix 1 1/2 cups of confectioner’s sugar with a (EDITED!!) generous 1/4 cup of dark rum, and pour over cake.

          Mmmm mmm. It’s cooling right now.

          I made roasted rum spiced almonds too, and they turned out delicious!

  3. Here is a funny; I was skimming your blog post too fast and thought your first reference book was titlled “Essential Clitoral Anatomy” and was surprised that there was a whole book on just that topic! Alas, I just misread!

    Hope you find time to relax just a bit, and share the recipe for all of us!

  4. If you need any sources on embryology and genital development, I may be able to help you out. Happy Holidays!

  5. Do you still need the 2005 Jnl of Urology article (“Anatomy of the Clitoris”)? I’ve got a pdf of it and would be happy to email it to you. You can email me at sungold85 (AT) gmail.com

    Gah, shouldn’t all this research just be open-source?

    • MomTFH

      Thanks, I got it. It is more complicated than one would think, no punch line intended. And yes, I am perturbed by pay-for-article firewalls often. My university library has a decent collection, but it doesn’t have everything.

      • Oh, good. I was researching O’Connell’s work today and your post popped up. Her work is fascinating, and I am trying to understand why – in all the recent hubbub about the G-spot again – no one seems to be talking about her findings.

Leave a Reply

