Am I reading too much into this?

Models with skins of various coffee shades

Models with skins of various coffee shades

I was reading one of many cooking magazines in the lead up to Thanksgiving, and I stumbled across an ad with what seemed like a biracial family. At first I thought “Wow, great! An ad with some racial diversity!”

Then I saw it was advertising a hot beverage appliance. And its selling point is being able to individualize your beverage: hot chocolate, coffee or latte! (With the words in various shades of brown.)

Ummm, really? Wow. I, uhh, no. Just, no. Why couldn’t it be an ad for prewashed salad greens or peanut butter or something, not various brown shaded beverages?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Am I reading too much into this?

  1. Linette

    …that’s really…funny. And sad? I can only guess it was poorly chosen stock photo. Is that the actual picture? Cause those people look like they’re having a GOOD ass time with those lattes.

    • MomTFH

      Yes, if you follow the link, it’s the same photo at the product website, and it’s the exact same photo in the magazine ad I have.

  2. At first glance I thought the coffee machine was called “Assimo”, and I thought, yeah, That’s Assy all right!

    New descriptor for me. “Dude, that’s assimo.”

  3. and I thought I was the only one who payed a little too much attention to how magazines portray the different races and ethnic backgrounds!

Leave a Reply

