Things that brighten my day

I have been having a frustrating time on different levels recently, and I found myself looking up various things on the internet to cheer me up. I am going to put them all here, so I can find them and watch them when I am having a rough day. And, if it helps someone else in a similar sitch, all the better.

I don’t know how to code it to do descriptions when you hover over it, so I will provide short descriptions underneath to make it more accessible to those who can’t watch it for one reason or another. If you don’t want spoilers, don’t read the text under each. This is an a cappella tribute to John Williams, the composer of the Star Wars theme, among many other movie themes. All the lyrics are Star Wars based. The singer is wonderfully talented, and the lyrics are very funny for any Star Wars geek. My five year old trying to sing this and getting half the words wrong, and not knowing the original movies for most of the themes, also cracks me up.

That is the “They are naked, and they do dance” skit from Monty Python’s Secret of the Policeman’s Other Ball. It is suitable for work, as long as laughing until tears are streaming down your face over something with no intelligible words is suitable for your work. They sing “Oom cha cha cha cha cha” over and over, and are wearing full suits, but pretend they are covering their privates with pieces of paper. It’s even funny without the sound, although the exuberant CHA CHA CHA!! at the end makes it for me. I may have to make this the representative Monty Python bit, even though I watched about an hour of clips with my 10 year old the other day. Watching his reaction and being able to share something like that with him was almost as fun as watching the Dead Parrot sketch for the 1,000th time.

A female farmer from Chad in a beautiful green dress, swinging a large stick that has been fashioned into a crude farming tool above her head, with a look on her face like she can conquer ANYTHING.

A female farmer from Chad in a beautiful green dress, swinging a large stick that has been fashioned into a crude farming tool above her head, with a look on her face like she can conquer ANYTHING.

Female farmers. This is a link to a photo series of females farmers around the world at Shakesville. I sent it to my mentor as a birthday greeting. These women are beautiful.

This is Weird Al’s White and Nerdy. It’s a bunch of inside nerd jokes, gangsta style.

Autotune the News cracks me up. They take the Autotune, which is the scapegoat of bad hip hop right now, and use it to take clips of the news, turn it into melodies, and use it to do a hiphop parody of recent events. It is total wonky fun. This one has some funny stuff about smoking lettuce (original footage from the floor of the Congress!) and lots of Katie Couric.

Where the Hell is Matt? I feel kind of silly explaining this well known internet phenomenon, but here goes. Matt dances. Everywhere. With everyone. It is breathtaking. The music is beautiful. The faces, smiles, and commonality of (almost) everyone shown renews my faith in humanity, for four minutes at least.

My son, at his 2nd birthday, covered in chocolate and joyfully feeding me chocolate cake

My son, at his 2nd birthday, covered in chocolate and joyfully feeding me chocolate cake


Chocolate, cooking, and my kids almost always can cheer me up.

Valentine's 2007

Photobucket

Photobucket

I took pictures of my older son every Valentine’s Day for a while, so we could make our own cards instead of buying ones with licensed characters (TM) on them.

Sarah Haskins! They’re all good, but I like this one in particular. Maybe because I really hate cleaning.

Here’s the site description: We all know women love to clean. But do you know why? Here’s the dirty little secret…
Sarah Haskins learns that life is more exciting with a little help from Dawn, Swiffer, Mr. Clean, Glade and Lysol.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Things that brighten my day

  1. Paige

    Man, that Matt really gets around. ;)

  2. MM

    I love this. Love, love, love it. :)

  3. See, but, you shouldn’t feel silly explaining about Matt. I thought I did, but it turns out I am not in fact aware of all Internet phenomena.

    Well, now I am. So, thanks for that :)

    (Also? That video was seventeen (17) kinds of awesome.)

  4. Pingback: Things that brighten my night | Mom's Tinfoil Hat

Leave a Reply

