Watch

Wow, I am so happy I stumbled across the link to this video on the margins of another blog.

I have been talking a lot about nonbinary gender, or gender (and sex, for that matter) as a spectrum, to my midwifery students. It comes up in almost every class. First, I taught Embryology. Then, Neonate. Now, I am teaching Anatomy and Physiology of the Female Reproductive System.

I am going to send them the link to this video of a presentation by Alex Cannon of the Transgender Health Program.

Just glancing over the Transhealth website, I want to commend them for being accessible. The original site I saw this video on does not have transcripts, and neither does this discussion site. If anyone finds or makes transcripts of it, please let me know.

Also, feel free to check out Transhealth’s Clinical Guidelines for Transgender Care.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Watch

  1. River Eden Doula

    That was great, thanks for sharing.

  2. Not to mention the completely different issues transgender children and their families face. Gender identity is formed at birth, and, as such, kids will communicate their need for respect/freedom of expression as soon as they have language (or before). As adults become more responsive and respectful of their children, more children and youth are growing up in the gender which they identify as, going through puberty as that gender (through hormone blockers, then cross hormones) and not needing the extensive surgeries that people who transition as adults need.

    I volunteer with one of the only organizations in the country that supports transgender and gender non-conforming children, and to meet these kids- they’re just kids! Just wanting to be respected and allowed to be who they are. Check out the website, and feel free to email me for more info if you like. janelle(at)transactiveonline(dot)org

    • MomTFH

      Yes, yes, yes. Good for you.

      I know this is a controversial topic that I am not an expert on, but I am very supportive of allowing children who consistently identify as transgender to use hormone blockers.

Leave a Reply

