Health care reform question

Barack Obama is having a live conference on health care reform today. I RSVP’d with this question.

(From a medical student studying to be an ob/gyn who is also a mother):

Unnecessary, expensive interventions in labor and delivery not only increase health care costs but lead to poor outcomes for mothers and babies. How serious is your health care team about improving quality of health care, including reducing the cesarean section rate? This has been a goal of the HHS since Healthy People 2000 was written, and the rate has continued to skyrocket. Childbirth is the most common reason for hospital admission in the United States, and cesarean section is the most common surgical procedure performed in United States hospitals. Small changes can save millions of dollars AND improve quality of care.

http://articles.latimes.com/2009/may/17/business/fi-cover-birth17

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Health care reform question

  1. Amen! I just want a home birth payed for without fighting for it. I was only in the hospital for 12 hours (I got there 45 minutes before the birth), I didn’t take any drugs and I didn’t even mess up the sheets on the bed in the delivery room (I was on the floor). I should have gotten a discount!

  2. Amen to that. I wonder if he will answer.

  3. I would love to hear any reply you get back.

  4. Great one!! Good for you for getting that one out there.

Leave a Reply

