How did I just find this out?

Apparently I am quoted in the LA Time Health blog. In September of last year.

Some commentators suggest such a lengthy journey and seemingly low-key response may not have been the wisest course. From Mom’s Tinfoil Hat: “We don’t need a vice president (or president, for that matter) who thinks mother’s intuition and her faith are more important than appropriate medical care.”

Interesting. I was also quoted on a public radio show in Portland Oregon, once, on the topic of HIV testing and pregnancy, specifically, this post. A local friend happened to be listening and happened to catch it and happened to call me. How cool is that? I guess I don’t have any friends who are reading the LA Times health blog.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “How did I just find this out?

  1. So you were quoted but not linked? How rude. I would take it as a compliment. I must say I have mixed feelings about your mandatory HIV testing for pregnant women post. I work in a state that (probably) has the most comprehensive HIV screening program for woman and children in the country. I can only view it as a positive thing. I actually wrote policies on rapid HIV testing for pregnant woman and babies. If I have time (ha, ha) I would love to call on my experts and post something on it.
    Isn’t the internet great!
    RR

    • MomTFH

      She did link to my post, it just didn’t show up as a trackback for some reason.

      I definitely view HIV testing as a positive thing. I just view patient refusal as valid, not only of HIV testing but of interventions. I think refusal of screening and treatment of HIV the absolutely wrong choice, but I really don’t believe in forcing screening or treatment on anyone, especially if they’re pregnant.

      • In the state I work, women are allowed to opt out of the screen. However, we are then mandated to screen the baby, without the mom’s consent.

        • MomTFH

          I am really conflicted about this. Because, in essence, it is testing the mother. It is not the baby’s antibodies being tested, it is the mother’s that she transferred to the baby. A baby won’t have a valid HIV test until it is 12 months old or more, generally.

          So, if it is to decide whether to administer AZT to the baby, which would be what it would be for, I would assume, I would also assume the same woman would probably refuse to have the baby treated. So, where are we then?

          I am definitely speaking hypothetically, of course. If I get the local residency I want, I will be in a hospital system where I face the reality of caring for women with HIV and unknown HIV status.

          If her child is going to be removed and become a ward of the state, then testing may be ethical once she has relinquished parental rights. Is it ethical to give AZT to a baby against the mother’s wishes? Will the state get a court order to take custody just to administer the medications? How soon until we get to imprisoning women with HIV? Oh, wait we already are.

          That being said, I agree it is obviously better for the health of the baby and the mother if they know their HIV status and are medicated. And, both may be lost to the system if not screened and treated at this point. Pregnancy, especially labor and delivery, is a unique time in which women have mroe access to care and seek out more care. But there are lots of ticking time bombs out there that don’t get the government in their lives like women do at the point of delivery. I think she should have a psych consult, possibly, and/or a social worker and a compassionate practitioner who can find out what is going on in her life and why she is refusing. Maybe she will agree at a follow up appointment. Maybe she will sign a release for the baby 12 hours or 18 hours after the delivery. How often does this even come up, and when it does, is it worth it to override her autonomy and remove the child from custody?

  2. Pingback: Reply turned post, HIV testing for neonates style « Mom’s Tinfoil Hat

Leave a Reply

