Some navel gazing

I am done with classes. I took my last exam for my last medical school class on Tuesday. I went to a party Tuesday night, and slept it off most of Wednesday (after getting the kids to school). Ran errands and saw some friends Thursday, and here I am.

I am really thankful for having people there for me in what has been a really amazing and strange and transformative experience.

It was pretty anticlimactic, actually. And, it’s weird in a few ways. It’s weird because I am becoming a fellow, so I am not really with my class anymore. I have made a lot of friends in my class. More than I thought I would, and closer ones than I thought I would. I am friends with everyone who will be a fellow, so we will have a sort of camaraderie. And, I have some friends in the upcoming class that I will be joining on rotations.

Things are a little weird, also, because it is a little scary to me how depressive, lethargic and lost I get when I am not on a strict, high paced schedule. I am going to be self directed for a while now. All I want to do is veg out, watch TV, nap and eat mac and cheese on the couch. I need to study for boards, prepare lectures for an embryology class I am teaching for the midwifery school, and just pick up all the loose ends I let accumulate when I was in school. Oh, and be in my brother’s wedding (along with both of my sons…isn’t there some sort of quota of one generation only being in a wedding party?), and be a mother and wife, including arranging activities and supervision for the kids for summer vacation.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Some navel gazing

  1. Congrats on finishing your classes! So, what’s your schedule like over the summer? When do you go start your rotations/residency/fellowship or whatever it’s called at this next step?

  2. MomTFH

    Thanks! I have board exams in June, then the research fellowship starts in July. My rotations will start the following July, and then residency two years after that.

  3. MM

    Congrats! I’m looking forward to that day myself…only six more semesters to go. Six semesters isn’t forever, right???

    I’m looking forward to hearing about your new adventures outside of the classroom. :)

  4. MomTFH

    Thanks, everyone!

    MM, you will look back one day. I know it seems like forever, but it isn’t.

  5. It’s so hard to redefine productivity when you’ve been ON for so long, isn’t it? It’s like after a first pregnancy (through which you worked) when you’re home with a new baby and you can actually hear your personal gears grinding to a screeching halt.

    I’m really happy for you. Finishing coursework is huge. Nice job, Hilary. =)

Leave a Reply

