Linky dinky doo

I haven’t had time to post recently, but I have been reading lots of great stuff on the interwebs.

Time magazine has published an article called The Trouble with Repeat Cesareans. (H/t Rixa at Stand and Deliver) The author also has a post up at Huffington Post entitled Childbirth Without Choice. Even better than these two wonderful articles, The International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN) has a new database of VBAC policies in US hospitals. What a fantastic resource.

Rachel at Women’s Health News spearheaded a lot of concern when she posted about a proposed bill in Tennessee to drug test women under a dizzying array of mom blaming reasons. I was very happy with the flurry of outrage and support on the feminist sites. I think pregnancy issues, especially ones that involve having a baby, not preventing one, don’t get adequate attention on many of these sites. The National Advocates for Pregnant Women generally have good information on the issue of drug testing and subsequent imprisonment of pregnant women.

Edited to add: Rachel has expanded on her discussion of this topic with a brilliant post examining the many troubling aspects of forced drug testing on select pregnant women.

The National Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association has a post up about a resolution being introduced to include *gasp* women’s reproductive health issues to the national debate on health care reform. It would be symbolic, but hey, it’s a symbol we need. I am sick of women’s reproductive issues being dropped like a hot potato any time someone points out that it is controversial. (I’m looking at you, Obama.) I had a discussion with the lobbying arm of the American Osteopathic Association during a presentation on grassroots activism at our school. She told me that they don’t advocate for women’s reproductive health issues because it is controversial. She pointed out to me there are lobbying groups specifically set up to oppose such legislation. I asked her why that wouldn’t make it more important for them to advocate for women’s issues? I also asked her who is going to defend women’s health care if groups representing physicians won’t. She also said they don’t really do anything regarding Medicaid. I was pretty disappointed with this presentation, to say the least. It should have been called “Grassroots activism for those where the grass is already greener.”

I loved this post on Shakesville with book recommendations for coming of age boys. Thanks! Again, impressed with the parenting style coverage from a site that normally caters more to the childless and gay men.

Finally, on a non health related item, there is the issue of horrific, racist political cartoon comparing Obama to a gunned down monkey. As usual, Ill Doctrine has a good analysis of the many problematic angles of this story. I am saddened by how non progressive some of his commenters are. It is very clear that the context of the rag, the New York Post, paints the stimulus as Obama’s stimulus. In fact, that same day, on the previous page, there was a huge picture of Obama’s face next to headlines criticizing the stimulus package. And, the same cartoonist has published previous cartoons with Obama standing at a pad presenting his stimulus bill. Racist apologists who try to nitpick that the author of the bill wasn’t literally Obama make me ill. (No offense, Jay Smooth, for the use of the word ill.)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Linky dinky doo

  1. Thanks for the link. I posted my expanded commentary this morning with the note that any of my TN readers who want to steal any of my language for use in letters to their legislators are more than welcome. I condense my own posts for those purposes, anyway.

  2. MomTFH

    Yes, I read the new post this morning, and it is wonderful. I noticed you also linked to the NAPW. In fact, you were probably posting on here as I was posting on there. I guess we are part of the mutual appreciation society, but that’s no news to anyone, I guess. I will update this post to link to your expanded discussion.

  3. Yes, the Time Magazine article is very informative and highlights the Catch 22’s of birth that will be highlighted and discussed at the Controversies in Childbirth Conference. Dr. Stuart Fischbein, who is a speaker at the Controversies in Childbirth Conference, was quoted in the article. He’ll be on a panel with other professionals to discuss c-sections. Here’s the speakers:

    Dr. Fishbein MD FACOG, (Anti-Cesarean OB)
    Marra S. Francis MD (Pro-Cesarean OB)
    Pauline McDonagh Hull, Editor of electivecesarean.com
    Pam Udy, President, ICAN

  4. MomTFH

    Thanks Lori. Looks like a very interesting conference. I wish I could go.

Leave a Reply

