I write letters

(h/t Shakesville for the title)

I was upset to hear that one of my senators, Mel Martinez (R – FL), sponsored an amendment to the SCHIP bill that would reinstate the Global Gag Rule, aka the Mexico City Policy. Luckily it got shot down, but still.

So, I wrote him a little email.

I was disappointed to hear that you sponsored an amendment to reinstate the Global Gag Rule. As you should know as a responsible politician who would research the effects of a policy before promoting it, it does not prevent money from going to abortions at all, which is still prevented by the Hyde amendment. What it does is prevent accurate information from being given out, and restricts funding for clinics who do not perform abortions at all.

Do a simple search for “deaths global gag rule” and you will see dozens of scientific reports showing that the Global Gag Rule contributes to maternal deaths world wide, and deaths of children and full families due to unsafe abortions, increased infection and lack of access to care. Shame on you, for someone who calls himself “pro-life”, for supporting such a policy.

Well, at least he has announced he isn’t running for reelection. Good riddance.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I write letters

  1. Erin

    May I send an email with similar language to my senators? I really like the way that you worded yours, and, like you, I’m horrified that they considered trying to reinstate the Global Gag Rule.

  2. Oh, but please check into whether it is the Hyde amendment (which I am pretty sure is right) or, as I read today, the Helms amendment. I should be studying for an exam I have tomorrow, so I don’t have the time to look into it myself until after the exam.

Leave a Reply

