What’s so wrong with saying “Happy Holidays”?

I usually leave my family of origin out of my blogs. We don’t see eye to eye on much, politically, but we generally have loving relationships and try not to argue too much about anything. Every now and then, though, something comes up.

I was at a function once with my family, and my brother got miffed that he heard some country club member say “Happy Holidays” to the hired Santa Claus as his daughter was hopping off of his lap. “Look around, there’s Christmas trees! This is obviously only for Christmas!” he said.

I pointed out that Christmas trees were evergreens decorated to celebrate the winter solstice originally, and that this was a big pagan rip off, anyway.

What I wanted to say was, “Do you really think if Jesus showed up for his second coming right now, then he’d be concerned what some shmoe in plaid pants is saying to a fake Santa Claus at a country club that still doesn’t let in black people in 2008? You DO realize there are starving people in this world, right? What kind of priorities do you think Jesus, He of Christmas, really has?”

Well, with a hat tip to Ed at Dispatches from the Culture Wars, we get more insight into what some people think His priorities are:

Fred Phelps and his buddies with the “God hates fags” church, the one that protests at Iraqi war veterans funerals, wants to get in on the religious expression battle at the Washington Capitol. He wants to put up this:

(Trigger warning)

Santa poster

Nothing like talking about priest rape to make you feel like it’s time to celebrate Peace on Earth! Happy birthday, baby Jesus!

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “What’s so wrong with saying “Happy Holidays”?

  1. j-rap

    Yeah, and isn’t the “real” Christmas supposed to be in June? I remember hearing that once in catechism. This is a total pagan ripoff. I’m not entirely complaining… I love this holiday and what it means to me and how my family celebrates it. But come on peeps! WWJD? He certainly wouldn’t be getting all cranky over someone inviting you to enjoy this season.

  2. MomTFH

    Yeah, it’s certainly got to be better than telling people to go to hell.

  3. It seriously pisses me off when people get all in a huff about “happy Holidays”. To be honest, that’s all I say to people this time of year. For all I know the person whom I am addressing is a Buddhist and celebrates the New Year on the full moon in January. I think “Happy Holidays” is a great way to cover all the bases without being dismissive of any one person’s beliefs.

    And I know I’ve told you this countless times, but your brothers really need to get over themselves.

  4. MomTFH

    Heh heh, you have known them for way too long.

    Yeah, I really have a hard time with people who pride themselves on being intolerant.

  5. White men, like your brother who obviously doesn’t question his thoughts — they are a dying breed. They didn’t learn the word ‘consequence’ and therefore can not make adequate distinctions about reality.

    Hey, I think we should be friends!

    http://morsemusings.wordpress.com

  6. dam

    Ha! LOVE this post! Get over yourselves, people, right??

  7. Lyndsay

    I got that “I want my Christmas back” forward from a cousin of mine. Have you seen it? Goodness, a majority of people celebrate Christmas, there are Christmas songs on the radio all the time in December, there are Christmas trees everywhere, commercials about Christmas etc. I don’t think Christmas is going anywhere but people feel threatened??? Goodness.

  8. Soma

    “Christmas is the holiday that we keep celebrating in hopes that one day it will live up to our expectations.”

    Sometimes half of me feels sorry for these people because they’ve become so wrapped up in the TV Special version of Christmas that every December leaves them bursting veins left and right because it’s impossible for the world to keep up with their Disneyesque expectations.

    Then I remember that they’re the same people who, after every year doing their best to make me feel alienated and undeserving as a child, pitch a fit about the “war on Christmas” whenever someone has the audacity to question the superior treatment that they’ve always taken for granted. But if I say “War on Minority Holidays” I’m being overly sensitive.

  9. Every time I think that Fred Phelps & co have pulled off their most outrageous stunt, that they couldn’t possibly get any weirder, they pull out something like this.

    Incredible.

    I grew up just a few minutes from their church, and I will always be morbidly fascinated with their antics.

  10. Pup

    Phelps and his lot are gaining on Jack Chick as my favourite whacko Christians. That sign’s almost as nutty funny as a Chick tract.

    I wouldn’t say Happy Holidays to a Jew celebrating hanukkah though, nor a Muslim on Eid, or anyone else celebrating a religious festival though, it’s just rude.
    There’s nothing wrong with saying Happy Holidays at the time people are celebrating Christmas, but to say it to people who are obviously celebrating Christmas, as if you can’t even bear to utter the words Merry Christmas, is not polite, and should be seen as any other petty insult. For the Father Christmas, I personally would not say it to him, but there’s no guarantee that he was celebrating Christmas himself, rather than just being a person with a Christmas job.

  11. MomTFH

    Pup, why is it rude to say “Happy Holidays” to a Muslim or a Jew?

    And why do you assume that people can’t bear to utter “Merry Christmas”? What if many people, like me, were raised saying “Happy Holidays” and think it is a joyful, appropriate, inclusive greeting for the holiday season?

    Every year I buy holiday cards with “Happy Holidays” on them (and “Peace on Earth”, of course!). They are available at any greeting card display, and I think very few people (without some sort of agenda that would elevate their religion over others as being more important) find the term insulting.

    I originally thought “Happy Holidays” included Christmas and New Year’s and the many birthdays in my family that occur at the end of the year, but as I matured and learned about other religious practices outside of my family’s, I realized it politely extended to all holidays celebrated by everyone at the end of the year.

    I fail to see how the term “Happy holidays” is rude in any way. How is referring to Christmas as a holiday is a petty insult, even if you know the person you are addressing is a Christian?

    Obsessing about the reasons why people give pleasant, benevolent greetings to each other and assuming the worst is truly petty, IMO.

  12. Pup

    “Pup, why is it rude to say “Happy Holidays” to a Muslim or a Jew?”

    That’s not what I said, it’s only rude if you know that they’re not celebrating ‘holidays’ but in fact Eid, or Vasant Navratri or whatever, and you’re pointedly ignoring that. Like saying ‘Happy Long Weekend’ or ‘Happy First of the Month’ to someone on their birthday, when you know they’re celebrating their birthday.
    Like I said, it’s petty, it’s not a great insult, or anything to get worked up about, but it’s not polite neither.

    “Obsessing about the reasons why people give pleasant, benevolent greetings to each other and assuming the worst is truly petty, IMO.”

    I’m sure it is. Regardless, we should really talk about what I’m doing. Like I said, there’s nothing wrong with Happy Holidays as a seasonal greeting, but it , to give another example, say someone says Merry Christmas to you, to reply Happy Holidays is just as bad as if someone said Happy Hanukkah to you, and you pointedly replied Merry Christmas.

  13. MomTFH

    I don’t see the bad. I don’t see anything bad about “happy”, or “holidays”, or them together. I always assume that includes New Year’s Day, and I know very few people who don’t celebrate New Year’s. Also, why *shouldn’t* (edited the typo!) people be happy on OTHER people’s holidays, even if they are not observing them?

    As for Happy Hannukah, I worked with someone who was an orthodox Jew, and she would regularly tell us, with great joy, about the fun holidays and wish us a happy new year on Yom Kippur and would apologize to us on the day of atonement. I find none of that insulting, and can’t imagine who would.

    Other people being happy about their religion is not rude, or bad. Even if it’s not the same as yours.

  14. war_monger

    I think that people are entirely too sensitive these days. Why can’t we respect the fact that we are all different with different beliefs and leave it at that. If my Muslim or Catholic friends wish G*d’s blessings on me, how is this offensive? They are wishing me well regardless of my religious orientation or lack thereof. I should be thankful that they are wishing me well from their unique perspective. Is it offensive to greet someone with “Happy Halloween” on October 31 since it makes reference to a “hallowed” or “holy” day (All Saints Day, Nov 1)? I don’t think you have to be a Christian to make reference to that holiday or to be a Pagan to appreciate the sentiment behind it.

  15. Pup

    “Other people being happy about their religion is not rude, or bad. Even if it’s not the same as yours.”

    Cool. You keep telling me things that I already know, that are unrelated to the point I’ve made. It’s as if you’re trying to paint me as a bad person.

    Do you not think that it would be rude to say Happy First of the Month to someone, on their birthday, when you know they’re celebrating their birthday, not the start of the month?

    “Also, why should people be happy on OTHER people’s holidays, even if they are not observing them?”

    Why should people avoid wishing OTHER people a Happy ‘whatever they’re celebrating’, even if they are not observing them? Would that make them feel bad, to acknowledge the OTHER person’s religion?

  16. MomTFH

    I’m sorry, that should have said “Why SHOULDN’T people be happy” on other people’s holidays. I will edit the comment.

    Now is it something you don’t know? I never said that ANY of those statements are rude. I think you’re just arguing with yourself now.

  17. Pup

    “Now is it something you don’t know? I never said that ANY of those statements are rude. I think you’re just arguing with yourself now.”

    I don’t know what you mean. Is what something I don’t know? Are you talking to war_monger here?

    You still haven’t answered my question though:

    Do you not think that it would be rude to say Happy First of the Month to someone, on their birthday, when you know they’re celebrating their birthday, not the start of the month?

  18. MomTFH

    Pup, this is the last time I am going to reply because this is beyond ridiculous.

    If your religion was to celebrate the first of the month, then of course not. If you were doing it to be bizarre, then maybe. It is not a realistic example. I have never once in my life ever heard of anyone doing that, but you have an interesting imagination. You are really stretching, and if I didn’t come back and point out how ridiculous your examples are, you would be arguing with yourself, Pup.

    You are ignoring the arguments I have made consistently that talking about being happy about your own very real religious holidays in a benevolent way is never rude. And, the point of the original post was that when there are people like Phelps around, who cares if you say Happy holidays or Merry Christmas? You are the only one who thinks either one of those can be rude.

    Having endless hypothetical minutae permutations of points you are losing until your examples become unrealistic and not related to the original post is not debate. It’s a waste of both of our time.

  19. Pup

    Well, unless you change your mind, this will be my last post too.

    You don’t seem to understand my hypothetical, nor in fact how hypotheticals work; the situation does not have to be likely for the comparison to work. Nor does it have to be realistic, heck, it doesn’t need to be possible, in the case of Reductio Ad Absurdam, though it is advisable to avoid impossible hypotheticals, as by and large people get confused, and reject valid comparisons because they don’t understand how hypotheticals work.

    You seem to have misunderstood my hypothetical as being in some way about religion. There is no religious element to my hypothetical. I have ignored your comments “that talking about being happy about your own very real religious holidays in a benevolent way is never rude” because you’re right, and I agree. – My dispute is whether it can be rude to say ‘Happy Holidays’ to a Christian at Christmas, which it can.
    It certainly isn’t always, but in the examples that I have illustrated, and you have apparently misunderstood, it is.

    “You are the only one who thinks either one of those can be rude.”

    Yes, you and I are disagreeing. Of course I’m the only one in our two person conversation who holds my point of view, that is not a surprise.

    “Having endless hypothetical minutae permutations of points you are losing until your examples become unrealistic and not related to the original post is not debate. It’s a waste of both of our time.”

    Again, you’ve misunderstood how my hypotheticals have worked – it matters not at all whether the examples are realistic, it’s good enough for now that they are possible. They are not endless either – I’ve made two, which are essentially variations on the same basic theme – that to say something that clearly avoids acknowledging someone else’s celebration can be rude.
    It certainly is a waste of your time, as you have gained nothing from this conversation, and apparently haven’t enjoyed talking to me. Myself, I enjoy chatting to people on the net, whether or not they manage to understand what I’m saying, and there’s a good chance that any smart lurkers reading this will get my points too.

    As for your original point – that ‘who cares about Happy Holidays when Fred Phelps is around’ – well I wasn’t addressing that point, I was talking about “whether it can be rude to say ‘Happy Holidays’ to a Christian at Christmas”.
    If I were to answer that point I would say something like – ‘I am capable of caring about thousands of things at once, and so don’t see the need to pretend that Happy Holidays can never be used rudely just because Fred Phelps is a bigger arsehole by a factor of 10,000.’

  20. MomTFH

    Sorry, I lied. I am in a mood today and will reply once more.

    Anyone could say anything in the wrong tone of voice and sound rude. You could say “I love you” sarcastically enough to sound rude. You could say “Thanks for coming to my blog, this discussion has been enlightening” with the right sarcasm, and sound rude.

    Your points have nothing to do with my original post, however.

    I never said someone could not assume a “pointed” tone when saying Merry Christmas to someone. I never said you couldn’t throw some sarcasm behind “Happy Holidays”, but I have never, ever heard either case, I doubt anyone else has, either, and I am really confused why we are discussing it. I know what a hypothetical example is. The one about the first day of the month happens to be absurd and irrelevant.

    I never said if you read my post, you could never think about or debate any of the 1,000 other things in your head. I just question why you are doing here, in my comments on this blog, and acting like somehow you are arguing with me when these points are irrelevant to my post.

    You agreed that even discussing the absurdly remote chance that someone may say “Happy holidays” and not mean it with good intentions was completely petty quite a few posts above. So, please stop.

  21. Pup

    Cool, I take it that I can reply once more too.

    “Anyone could say anything in the wrong tone of voice and sound rude. You could say “I love you” sarcastically enough to sound rude. You could say “Thanks for coming to my blog, this discussion has been enlightening” with the right sarcasm, and sound rude.”

    You’re right.

    “Your points have nothing to do with my original post, however.”

    Well I wouldn’t go as far as to say ‘nothing’. The title of your post is “What’s so wrong with saying “Happy Holidays”?”. It’s not really to do with the contents of your post though, true.
    Is that really so bad though? I’ve not had any problems elsewhere with striking up tangential lines of conversation though, when it wasn’t distracting from an ongoing discussion.

    “I never said someone could not assume a “pointed” tone when saying Merry Christmas to someone. I never said you couldn’t throw some sarcasm behind “Happy Holidays”, but I have never, ever heard either case, I doubt anyone else has, either, and I am really confused why we are discussing it. I know what a hypothetical example is. The one about the first day of the month happens to be absurd and irrelevant.”

    That’s not quite what I’m saying though – it’s not the pointed tone that makes it rude in my examples (though that would absolutely make it rude), it’s the choice of time to say it.
    I’d defend my hypothetical, though, more than I would my overall argument – it’s a very nice hypothetical, and I’m quite miffed that you keep insulting it. In fact, I’m abandoning my original point on the off chance that doing so will please you enough to read my defense of my hypothetical.

    My point: Ignoring a person’s celebration and congratulating them on something else entirely can be rude
    My hypothetical: Ignoring a birthday and congratulating them on anything else (the first of the month or anything you like) would be rude.

    Now pretty much no-one would do that – but if they did, even to prove a point, – it would be rude! Thus regardless of my point, my lovely hypothetical works.

    “acting like somehow you are arguing with me when these points are irrelevant to my post.”

    I’m not sure what you’re saying here. I’m certainly not arguing with you over your post. – I am saying that saying Happy Holidays can be rude – and where you disagree with that then we are ‘arguing’ otherwise I’m just airing an opinion, that people are free to agree with, disagree with or just plain ignore.

    “You agreed that even discussing the absurdly remote chance that someone may say “Happy holidays” and not mean it with good intentions was completely petty quite a few posts above. So, please stop.”

    Yes. And I distinctly said that that’s not what I’m doing. And I’m still not.
    You misunderstand, I’m not talking about people who say Happy Holidays and mean it with bad intentions. Like you say, they’re few and far between. I think it can be rude when said at the wrong time. But I’m not pushing that point of view any more, I’m just defending my totally great hypothetical.

    I’m sorry if I’ve irritated you by airing my opinion. I’m not here to stomp all over your blog, and I totally get it if you want your blog to be a place where you air your own opinions, and people only talk about them. I enjoy conversation and discussion with a wide range of people on all sorts of things, and yes, a little intellectual sparring sometimes too. Blogs are a great place to do that, and by and large that’s what they’re here for. Yours isn’t, and I get that, and that’s cool, but there was no indication of that, that I saw when I started posting, so I don’t feel you can blame me too much for not knowing that.

  22. MomTFH

    You are still missing the point. Saying “Happy holidays” includes people’s holidays, it doesn’t ignore them. It’s not talking about something else.

    You, however, are.

    I don’t mind debate if it makes sense.

    Thanks for playing.

  23. jendajen

    WOW. In general I hate throwing around my “street cred”, especially as it pertains to the wonderful multicultural utopia in which I was raised; but the fact remains that I am part of a multicultural family and grew up in an area that was also very diverse. I have never, ever, ever been told that it was rude to say Happy Holidays to a person who does not celebrate traditional Christian holidays in the US. Fact is, there are a few American holidays and basically every culture has SOMETHING going on in December. I’ve been told by people from India, Asia, Africa and the Middle East that it’s totally cool to say “happy holidays” because we’re in America, we all celebrate thanksgiving, (even those that I was fortunate enough to know right when they got here were all up into the thanksgiving thang!) and most people also at least recognize that NYE is a cool thing, it’s the start of a new year, lets file our taxes and hit the clearance sales, even if you aren’t gonna party. When I was a kid, I made it a point to ask my new friends about their culture and teach them about mine when we were curious about something. I was told over and over, this is one of those universal things; just go ahead and say happy holidays! It’s INclusive, not EXclusive. If you don’t know a person’s holiday, or just in general, just say happy holidays. I’m getting the feeling without reading all of Pup’s replies (they are lengthy) that he’s one of “those” people who are all obsessed with boycotting Target (a large company that enjoys a customer base that is multicultural) because of the happy holidays signs and not because they buy goods made by children in foreign countries. Maybe your end results are close to the mark, but your heart just may be in the wrong place.

  24. Pup

    “I’m getting the feeling without reading all of Pup’s replies (they are lengthy) that he’s one of “those” people who are all obsessed with boycotting Target (a large company that enjoys a customer base that is multicultural) because of the happy holidays signs and not because they buy goods made by children in foreign countries. Maybe your end results are close to the mark, but your heart just may be in the wrong place.”

    So you get the impression, without reading anything I’ve written, that I’d boycott a store in a country I don’t live in for doing something I don’t have a problem with? And you do this in a Massive chunk of unformatted text that has the gall to complain about the length of my replies? FAIL! :p

    “I don’t mind debate if it makes sense.

    Thanks for playing.”

    I’ve kept all my replies polite and descriptive, yet you don’t seem to comprehend that civilised debate involves making your point without attacking the other person, or being pointlessly sarcastic. Your point in the line above is quite apposite, – if happy holidays is inclusive, then how could that be rude? It’s not, not acknowledging someone else’s celebration, it’s acknowledging it, AND everything else – that could even be applied to my wonderful hypothetical – with a little ingenuity.
    However, you don’t seem to have the knack of parsing other people’s comments correctly, nor engaging in polite conversation with people who disagree with you so I’ll be off, feel free to delete this comment, or post another about how I’m an idiot bigot who doesn’t understand anything, merely because I have a differing opinion from you, and am willing to discuss it. Don’t let the irony hit you on the way out.

  25. MomTFH

    I discussed it. Way longer than I should have. It seems to be you who, repeatedly, missed all of the points of the conversation.

    Amazing how when you finally acknowledge that none of your arguments apply to the post, and then you say I could try to apply them to your ridiculous hypothetical, if I was ingenious enough to do it. That was your job.

  26. MomTFH

    I had to take someone to the airport and didn’t get to say everything I wanted to say.

    Look, Pup. This conversation went on for 25 comments. I didn’t start getting sarcastic until you started accusing me of somehow stifling conversation by repeatedly replying to your comments. When someone answers you in an argument, don’t cry censorship. It’s an inaccurate ad hominem attack and tends to annoy people. I am not a comments fascist because I showed you that your points had major flaws.

    Calling your ridiculous arguments “wonderful” does not magically make them so.

    Let me show you how to actually construct a hypothetical that would apply:

    An office plans a monthly birthday party to acknowledge all of the birthdays of the month.

    The cake says “Happy birthdays”.

    Everyone feels included. They eat cake and enjoy each other.

    Except for the ONE pathetic white guy in the corner whose dad owns the company. He sits there, grumbling, “MY birthday is more important than all of these OTHER people’s birthdays. MINE MINE MINE!”

    He stomps his foot and has a mantrum.

  27. Pingback: Hypothetically « Mom’s Tinfoil Hat

  28. Pup

    “Look, Pup. This conversation went on for 25 comments. I didn’t start getting sarcastic until you started accusing me of somehow stifling conversation by repeatedly replying to your comments. When someone answers you in an argument, don’t cry censorship. It’s an inaccurate ad hominem attack and tends to annoy people.”

    This is what I mean when I say that you seem incapable of parsing other people’s comments. Where exactly did I accuse you of stifling the conversation, or censorship? That’s right, I didn’t. – You’re annoyed with me for a variety of things that exist purely in your own head, they were not in my intention, or in what I wrote.

    I don’t think you’re a fascist, I don’t think you’re very polite, or open minded, but I think you’re very willing to let me post my comments, and you keep replying to them – though rarely do you make an argument, you mostly just insult me or my argument.

  29. Pup

    “though rarely do you make an argument”

    Though when you do make an argument – like “Happy Holidays is inclusive – how therefore, can it ever be rude?” – it’s quite a good one. It’s a pity that we can’t just y’know, have the argument, without all the excess stuff.

    “Calling your ridiculous arguments “wonderful” does not magically make them so”

    Yeah, my tongue was slightly in my cheek for that comment. However, it is an entirely valid hypothetical, and you haven’t given a single reason why it isn’t, other than it’s purported “unlikeliness”, which as we’ve already established, is not a good measure of a hypothetical.

  30. MomTFH

    “I’m sorry if I’ve irritated you by airing my opinion. I’m not here to stomp all over your blog, and I totally get it if you want your blog to be a place where you air your own opinions, and people only talk about them. I enjoy conversation and discussion with a wide range of people on all sorts of things, and yes, a little intellectual sparring sometimes too. Blogs are a great place to do that, and by and large that’s what they’re here for. Yours isn’t, and I get that, and that’s cool, but there was no indication of that, that I saw when I started posting, so I don’t feel you can blame me too much for not knowing that.”

    Here is where you say I want to restrict conversation on my blog to my own opinions only.

  31. Pup

    Ok, my bad. I should have phrased that better. That was meant as an apology for the amount my continual posts are clearly annoying you – since I’ve yet to have a successful conversation with an annoyed person over the internet.
    And it wasn’t meant to say that you want to ‘restrict’ conversation on your blog to your own opinion, but that you were only interested in talking about the contents of your post – as indicated by your comments

    “And, the point of the original post was that when there are people like Phelps around, who cares if you say Happy holidays or Merry Christmas? You are the only one who thinks either one of those can be rude.”
    “Having endless hypothetical minutae permutations of points you are losing until your examples become unrealistic and not related to the original post is not debate. It’s a waste of both of our time.”

    and mainly:

    “I just question why you are doing here, in my comments on this blog, and acting like somehow you are arguing with me when these points are irrelevant to my post.”

    That’s not a criticism! There’s no reason you should have to be interested in debating any old tangent relating to the things you post about. Not all blogs are all about debate. Plenty of perfectly good blogs are just information delivery systems, or musings of a particular person.
    It may have looked like I was being passive aggressive, but I really meant it; I was merely eager to point out that I didn’t deliberately start a debate with someone that I knew wouldn’t be interested in it. That would be a rude move.

  32. Let me get this straight: Pup thinks it is offensive or rude to say “happy holidays” to someone when you know the religion they celebrate? So, knowing that someone is a Christian I should be forced to say “Merry Christmas” out of respect to them. Hrm. Well, I’m not a Christian. I find it offensive that someone should make me say “Merry Christmas” if I don’t celebrate Christmas. Why should I have to be pointedly polite to someone else at the expense of my own beliefs? “Happy Holidays” is a perfectly acceptable alternative. It sends a message of good cheer and kind attitudes without implying the importance of one belief system over another.

    Would I say “happy first of the month” to someone celebrating a birthday? Probably not, but then again birthdays are rarely as charged with religions significance as holidays… hence the word particle “holy” in holiday.

  33. Pup

    “Let me get this straight: Pup thinks it is offensive or rude to say “happy holidays” to someone when you know the religion they celebrate?”

    Nope. But you’re closer to the mark than jendajen. The rest of your post is unfortunately irrelevant, due your initial mistake.

    I’ll note though, that in finding it offensive that people might want you say Happy Christmas, and in terming that desire in such authoritarian terms like “make me say”, rather than merely wanting you to say it – you’re worryingly reminiscent of the religious dolts who are offended when people “make them say” Happy Holidays. (Or offended by the notion that one day people will ‘make them say’ that)

    (In case that paragraph seems unduly cryptic – the similarity is in the fact nobody is making anyone say anything – and there’s nothing for either of you to get offended about)

  34. Pup

    Well look at me claiming other people can’t read posts straight, then going and failing so badly right there. Of course the only part of your post rendered irrelevant by your mistake was the sentence “So, knowing that someone is a Christian I should be forced to say “Merry Christmas” out of respect to them”, not ‘the rest of it’.
    That sentence however, couldn’t be more wrong.

  35. Pingback: Season’s Greetings from Fred Phelps! « The Czech

Leave a Reply

