When you least expect it…

When I got in the car this morning, I was a little exhausted. I had a quiz on Sunday, a written and practical midterm on osteopathic manipulation and principles and practice on Monday, not to mention it was Z’s 4th birthday, which involved cupcakes at school and a special dinner and cake at home. I have a respiratory system final tomorrow that I was up late studying for last night. So, when I got in the car this morning, I actually turned off NPR. I have been such a news junkie lately I have even listened to CNN in the car. But today I wasn’t up for it. So I put on music.

Well, sometimes the universe has other plans. I heard “When the President Talks to God” by Bright Eyes. It didn’t lift me out of my funk about the political situation, but at least I got to hear a witty and brilliant song by a band I already loved.

When the president talks to God
Are the conversations brief or long?
Does he ask to rape our women’s rights
And send poor farm kids off to die?
Does God suggest an oil hike
When the president talks to God?

When the president talks to God
Are the consonants all hard or soft?
Is he resolute all down the line?
Is every issue black or white?
Does what God say ever change his mind
When the president talks to God?

When the president talks to God
Does he fake that drawl or merely nod?
Agree which convicts should be killed?
Where prisons should be built and filled?
Which voter fraud must be concealed
When the president talks to God?

When the president talks to God
I wonder which one plays the better cop
We should find some jobs. the ghetto’s broke
No, they’re lazy, George, I say we don’t
Just give ‘em more liquor stores and dirty coke
That’s what God recommends

When the president talks to God
Do they drink near beer and go play golf
While they pick which countries to invade
Which Muslim souls still can be saved?
I guess god just calls a spade a spade
When the president talks to God

When the president talks to God
Does he ever think that maybe he’s not?
That that voice is just inside his head
When he kneels next to the presidential bed
Does he ever smell his own bullshit
When the president talks to God?

I doubt it

I doubt it

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “When you least expect it…

  1. Michelle

    WOW…Nail on the HEAD my friend. How sad this nation has become in a mere 8 years. And there is still time, ticking away, taking our lives and livelihoods…and more importantly, OUR CHILDREN!

  2. MomTFH

    You hit the nail on the head, too. I am so afraid for the future for my children based on what has happened in the past eight years.

Leave a Reply

