Beautiful, indeed

Fortuitous is one of my favorite words. Not only is it fun to say, but it is inherently such a good thing when something fortuitous happens.

I am the president of the student interest group for obstetrics and gynecology this year (SAOG). (Eep!) And, I am vice president of our chapter of the American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) and Medical Students for Choice(MS4C).

Notice a pattern here?

I decided to change our charity group this year for SAOG. We raised money for the Komen foundation last year. I definitely think breast cancer research is a good cause. However, breast cancer is not normally diagnosed or treated by ob/gyns. It is diagnosed by radiologists and pathologists and treated by oncologists.

So, I wanted to switch to a charity for repairing obstetric fistulas. One of the physicians who came to speak to us, a gynecological oncologist, travels to repair fistulas once a year. I just ran it by my exec board, and then Rachel posted about the movie “A Walk to Beautiful”. I already have one board member say that she didn’t think it was a compelling enough charity. (She and I don’t see eye to eye on very much – her favorite SAOG lecture from her first year was someone discussing labiaplasty and other plastic surgery on the vagina). I think showing the video during a lunch meeting will be a good idea.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Beautiful, indeed

  1. Added your new url to my feed reader. One comment about the new design… Could you add a bar, line, delineation or some sort at the end of each post? They kind of blur together when reading if not actively looking at the post title on the right side.

  2. MomTFH

    Yeah, I am not liking it, either. I am fiddling with it right now.

    Thanks for following me here!

  3. drfrenchfry

    I’m new to wordpress, just came across your post through tag surfer– I too am the president of the Ob/Gyn Interest Group and co-president of MS4C. Haven’t posted anything on those yet as the school year hasn’t started, though hopefully there will be more to come. Good luck with your obsetric fistula charity!!

  4. MomTFH

    Cool! Post a link to your blog.

    Are you going to be at the LTD in Nashville?

  5. So I just sent you an email about something that NEEDS to be on your blog.

  6. Good choice and good luck!

Leave a Reply

