Flashback Friday – Tazo Awake Tea

FF1

Tazo Awake tea gets me through the day. They are not false advertisers. That stuff keeps me awake in class. It is the main force getting me through finals week with a sick three year old. Not only do they have an awesome website and amusing labels, but their line of teas is fantastic, and I am a tea hound. I know my Lapsang Souchong from my Oolong.

I can find it everywhere now: the grocery store, the Starbucks kiosk at the school. I remember the first time I had it, however. I was visiting Herb Pharm in beautiful Williams, Oregon. It was the height of the boom in the natural products industry. Herbal companies would fly health food store buyers, like me, out to the company for an all expenses paid training and tour.

Herb Pharm was beautiful. I fell in love with the Pacific Northwest. The people were wonderful and passionate. Herbal Ed was great to hang out with, share herbs with (I have shared kava and other herbs with this man, wink wink) and learn from. He valued scientific tools to verify traditional usage of herbs and to guarantee safety and effectiveness. I was just falling in love with natural medicine, which has led me to where I am today, one day from being done with my first year of medical school.

I remember being the first one up one morning, suffering from my inability to sleep anywhere I am visiting and being accustomed to the Eastern timezone. They had a teapot on the stove and a box of tea for us. The tea was Tazo Awake. That was the most perfect cup of tea I have ever had. The house was silent. The tea was magnificent. (Tazo’s loose version of this tea won a blind taste testing at Cook’s Illustrated.) The boarding house was where their herbal apprentices slept, and it was right in the middle of the farm and gardens.

I am a very different person than I was that morning ten years ago. I am not sure if I had even decided I wanted to go to medical school yet, and I didn’t have any kids. But, I still loved a great cup of tea.

To check out another fan of tea and other Flashback Friday posts, check out CableGirl at 42.

5 Comments

Filed under General

5 responses to “Flashback Friday – Tazo Awake Tea

  1. Now let me see if I remember correctly… it was when you got back form this trip that you found out you were preggo with S, right? Man you, got him started early with the herbal teas. ;)

    Good luck today. Looking forward to our girls’ day out on Saturday.

    Don’t forget to sign the Mr Linky so others get to you today. :)

  2. Elizabeth

    Been vibin’ you for smooth sailing for your exams, and for your boy to feel better real soon! Thanks for reminding me of Lapsong Suchong and Oolong….

  3. Meg

    Well, I learned to like coffee at a late adult age, I guess I can learn to like tea. Probably doesn’t make your heart race, right? Thanks for the tip.

  4. What a great post! I love tea, and I love the idea/thought of the perfect cup.

  5. MomTFH

    Thanks everyone.

    I AM DONE WITH FINALS!

    Hmm, no, I wasn’t preggo with S until I moved down to Miami a year later.

Leave a Reply

