Music Monday – Wild Sage

I miss being part of the Music Monday community, but med school has been really keeping me busy.

I had a rough morning this morning, making an effort to spend time with my kids, and they made the effort to be especially difficult. I have a final exam tomorrow, and I knew I would be spending the rest of the day studying, so I really wanted to cram in the quality time. They want to cram in the contrariness, so it was frustrating.

While studying, I was listening to Pandora radio online, which I have really been enjoying. They let you enter in “seeds” for your station, which are artists or songs. Then they construct a radio station based on your seeds. When I created this station, I put in a sort of obscure band, the Mountain Goats, a sort of recent discovery of mine. I tend to zone out and not listen to the music, but the Mountain Goats are already a special favorite I keep one ear open for, and the lyrics of the chorus in particular made me perk up:

Wild Sage by the Mountain Goats

“and some days I don’t miss my family.
and some days I do.
and some days I think I’d feel better if I tried harder.
most days I know it’s not true.”

I can’t embed, so please click to listen to the whole song.

And, here is a bonus: This Year, also by the Mountain Goats.

“I am going to make it through this year, if it kills me.”

I wasn’t sure a singer could be more elicit more emotion from me when listening than Tom Waits, and John Darnielle can, easily.

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Music Monday – Wild Sage

  1. The Music Monday welcomes you whenever you can come by. And a great piece too!

Leave a Reply

