Sigh

Wish I could say I was surprised, but I was only disgusted.

According to the New England Journal of Medicine, several drug companies who sell antidepressants have misrepresented and covered up negative studies, including studies with deaths due to suicide. One study with suicides was done on NORMAL subjects, not depressive subjects.

Drug companies need to take the portion of their R & D budget that goes to clinical trials and give it to non profits and universities to conduct and release the results of the actual drug trials. They can still make every penny off of the drug if it is successful and sold.

On the Media had a great story on it. Every time the expert referred to a death as a “trade secret”, I wanted to barf. Oh wait, I forgot, it’s NATURAL medicine that is unregulated….right.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for people getting the help they need when they are depressed. But, I am also all for accurate information and true informed consent. I have read research on antidepressants in which the results are very disappointing, studies that are secondary to the drugs being released. For example, studies on pregnant women who are depressed and taking antidepressants. I have often noticed that the efficacy rate in these studies, not conducted by the drug company, are often much much lower than claimed in the PDR and pharmaceutical literature.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sigh

  1. j-rap

    Thank you for posting this!

Leave a Reply

