Put the kid to bed

Rant:

I just left my study hole at Starbuck’s because a group came in with a child that was, by my guess, a few months shy of his second birthday. It was about eleven at night on Friday. The kid was alternating between shrieking in laughter and crying. The “grown ups” with him weren’t much better, talking really loudly and cursing a lot around the toddler. I finally left at 11:40 p.m. when it was apparent that they didn’t give a crap about the kid’s bedtime or my studying.

There was a reason why I was in a coffee house at almost midnight and my three year old was home, sleeping in bed. Because that’s the way it’s SUPPOSED TO BE. Put the kid to bed.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Put the kid to bed

  1. And these people are overwhelming why everyone shuns those who go to public places with children, regardless of how wonderful the kids really are. Ugh!

  2. Yup, giving us all a bad name!

  3. Well, I agree with you about the kid but why on earth should they have been respectful of your studying? It was a coffee shop, not a library.

  4. Well, I was the only other person in the coffee shop, and I had my books spread out all over my table and was obviously studying. They took over the area right next to me, when there was the whole place available. I just thought it would be nice for them to look over at the only other person there and think hey, she’s studying, maybe we should at LEAST move to the other side of the coffee shop.

    And people study there all the time. Not like I invented the whole studying in the coffee shop idea. When I think coffee shop, I think reading, studying, quiet talking. I don’t think loud cursing and children at 11:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

