Red flags abound

Thanks again to Rachel at Women’s Health News for leading me to this great post: signs that it’s time to look for a new care giver for your birth. (Rachel, you’ve been on fire. I haven’t even linked to all the links in your blog I want to link to, or my site would just turn into a Rachel fan site.)

My favorites included:

4. The practice won’t release their cesarean rates. (My comment: if they are a perinatologist practice with lots of high risk patients and multiples, they can obviously explain a high cesarean rate and still give you the information)

9. You’re told that you’re not allowed to have a doula.

11. Your questions are dismissed, ignored, or found to be irritating. “Just let me worry about that.”

12. “Oh, just get the epidural. You don’t get a metal (sic) for a natural birth.”

I added:

Anyone who suggests induction for convenience. You want to have the baby with a few weeks of summer left before school starts for the other kids? You want to have the baby right before Christmas to make it easier on you and the family (and the doctor?) As long as you’re here today and you are in your safe dates, how about having a baby today? As long as it’s your due date, (one day past your due date) how about having the baby today? Since I have a busy weekend and I have to cover for two other doctors, how about having the baby today?*

Anyone who never mentions breastfeeding.

I would also amend #12 to include lots of dismissive comments I have heard about “natural” birth, including:

You don’t deserve to feel any pain. (So, the 70% or so women in the world who give birth without anesthesia do?)

You’ll be screaming for drugs the minute you come in, I know these things.

* I actually heard about the “I have to cover for two other doctors and I am going to have a busy weekend” comment this week from a doula friend. The doctor used it to pressure a mother and father into induction (well, technically it’s augmentation, but it’s pretty close) and hung up on them after yelling at them over the phone in the hospital. The couple was in the hospital, not the doctor. (I want to add “Of course” here, but that would be really snotty.) He wanted the woman, who was contracting and dilating, and wanted an “unmedicated” birth, to be given pitocin, which speeds up and intensifies contractions. The mother caved and agreed to the pitocin, then she asked for pain meds to control the excruciating contractions, and had the baby in ONE HOUR. Normal? Safe? No, precipitous and dangerous, and it’s mandatory to list births like that on the Florida Birth Certificate. Few complications make it on the birth certificate form (the part that collects statistics, not the part that is sent to the parents), but births under three hours do.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Red flags abound

  1. Pingback: Signs You Need to Find a New Pregnancy/Birth Care Provider « Women’s Health News

  2. Thanks! I think these are great additions, by the way.

  3. Great post!

    The “You’ll be screaming for an epidural” comment always really pisses me off the most.

  4. I had an OB tell me that women couldn’t handle natural births in our culture as we weren’t raised to tolerate pain. I changed practices. Since I labored for about 17 hours before my unplanned section without begging for an epidural I think my experience illustrated that that is crap.

Leave a Reply

