Coverage, or lack thereof

I am not sure how many of you have been in this situation, but I found myself pregnant and was paying for my own health insurance independently, since I did not have any insurance through my work. Well, they didn’t cover maternity. I got into a wonderful argument with the woman on the phone about it. “You don’t buy house insurance without planning to buy a home first,” she said to me snottily. I said “Yes, but no company who provides home insurance forces you to prove you do NOT have a home first to give you home insurance!” They wanted to force me to take a pregnancy test to prove I was NOT pregnant in order for me to be able to sign up for maternity coverage. At least 40% of pregnancies in the United States are unplanned, and you know the insurance companies know this. Anyone still defending our health care system in the United States who is NOT on the take from insurance lobbyists?

Here is a depressing article about maternity coverage, or the lack of it, from WebMD if you want to hear about more mothers getting screwed, no pun intended, with huge hospital bills even if they are insured!

I can’t wait for Michael Moore’s “Sicko” to come out. A lot of Americans look at what they have, some insurance from their employers, and think a lack of insurance is a problem for homeless people and bums. It’s not. And when we have insurance and it still doesn’t cover squat (I just paid a $465 bill for my son’s broken wrist. I pay $400 out of pocket every month for health insurance for my family. I am still nowhere near our deductible, and I am halfway through the year.) it is starting to be everybody’s problem, not just the problem of the faceless them we try not to make eye contact with when we are driving through a not-so-nice part of town.

For those of you who like a happy ending, I got hired at four months pregnant, and the company (*koff* Blue Cross Blue Shield *koff*) who told me they would not cover my pregnancy ended up having to cover it through my employer. Lucky for me I didn’t have to wait 6 months or even a year for my health insurance benefits to kick in. Lucky for them I used a midwife and it only cost them a thousand or two. Check out the link above to find out what normal labor and delivery costs are, especially for cesarean sections. With a 50% cesarean rate in some hospitals down here, BCBS should be thanking me.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Coverage, or lack thereof

  1. lunarmama

    Yep, happened to me too, though it happned to me in the Netherlands. My Mister’s company wouldn’t cover me becasue I didn’t have a residence permit (i’m an American living in the Netherlands) and the other insurance co.’s here considered it a “pre-existing condition” since I was already 3 months along. Thankfully my mister’s company was forced into covering me but we had to pay fore everythin gout of paocket forst. thankfully, like you, we did a home birth and it cost less than 1,200USD. We are moving back to the States at the end of the year and I’m due for baby # 2 in january. I have NO IDEA what I’m going to do about that! I’m pretty certain I won’t get coverage. We plan to do a homebirth again, but what with our upcoming moving expenses and no possibility of a reimbursement from a health insurance company, we will be stuck with it this time. Here is crossing my fingers that I don’t thave complications!

  2. I am crossing my fingers, too!

    I am so interested in stories about birth from the Netherlands. One of my secret dreams is to practice there, since they are so supportive of home birth. I am glad lunardad’s company was forced into covering you.

  3. See and people think I”m crazy for loving the health care system we had when we were living in Canada. Yeah, you sometimes had to wait a long time for what they termed nonessential procedures, but hell, we were covered! Everyone was covered.

  4. Yeah, I’ll take rationing due to availability any day over rationing due to money, and oh, by the way, can I have more money?

  5. I hoping Sicko will do a lot to change the health insurance in this country. Something, you may find interesting about Sweden’s health care system is that if you get pregnant, you are allowed 9 months leave from work, and the government will take care of all of yoru bills and they have social workers check in with you after birth to make sure you are taking care of your baby correctly. Yes, they pay outrageous taxes, but they take care of their people, including health expenses.

Leave a Reply

