Baby bottle bummer

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketAs if parents who feed their babies from bottles don’t have enough to worry about, what with either having to deal with the torture joy of pumping or being afraid of being judged for using formula.

Environment California analyzed the five most popular brands of baby bottles on the market: Avent, Dr. Brown’s, Evenflo, Gerber, and Playtex. ALL FIVE were found to leach a developmental, neural, and reproductive toxin called bisphenol A in doses they considered “dangerous levels found to cause harm in numerous laboratory animal studies.”

The report goes on to say:

“Scientists have linked very low doses of bisphenol A exposure to cancers, impaired immune function, early onset of puberty, obesity, diabetes, and hyperactivity, among other problems.”

Yikes! I used Playtex Nursers with my sons. If you go to the website, they mention that the chemical is more likely to leach with washing or heating to high temperature. Although I feel guilty, environmentally wise, that the Nursers were disposable, I wonder if they would be less likely to leach since they are only used once? They are also NOT made of hard clear plastic, which many websites link to bisphenol A. I cannot say that they are bisphenol A free, however.

Baby Safe Direct has information about Solvay Polythenylsulfone (PPSU) Baby Bottles, which they claim are safer. You can always try glass bottles if you are less clumsy than me, and your baby isn’t throwing the bottles across the room yet.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Baby bottle bummer

  1. Leigh

    Wow, so I guess my Avent sippy cups have got to go after four solid years of use… sheesh! What ABOUT sippy cups? Is anyone looking into which of those are safe(r)? No, I don’t think glass sippy cups would be safe at all, just from the standpoint of not wanting glass shards all over the floor, so where does that leave us for toddler refreshment in the car?

  2. My Playtex sippy cups have a #2 recycling code ont he bottom, which makes them “HDPE (high-density polyethylene) – durable and widely recyclable” and not found to leach carcinogens or endocrine disruptors, based on an online guide I found.

    My Avent sippy cups are unmarked. I hope they are made from HDPE too. I will be researching.

  3. There’s a US manufacturer of bisphenol A free bottles and sippies called Born Free.

  4. Yes, they are sold at Whole Foods, and I mention them in my next post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

